Databases are the best way of finding peer-reviewed articles, scholarly books, conferences, theses and other information on your topic. Some databases enable you to search across disciplines while others are tailored to help researchers in your specific subject.
Contains information on qualitiative and quantitative research methods, designing research methods, and video case studies. Access to Datasets 1 and 2 only.
Books - close to 900 titles such as Comparative Historical Methods and Using Narrative in Research
Little Green books - 174 titles from the series Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences including titles such as Quantitative Narrative Analysis, Methods of Randomization in Experimental Design, and Working with Archival Data
Little Blue books - 46 titles from a Qualitative Research Methods series including titles such as Analyzing Visual Data, Understanding Ethnographic Texts, and Strategies for Interpreting Qualitative Data
Major works - 6 titles These tend to be multi-volume works. e.g. SAGE Qualitative Research Methods and SAGE Secondary Data Analysis
Handbooks - 55 titles e.g. The SAGE Handbook of Child Research and Data Literacy: a User's Guide
Reference books - 15 titles, specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries for quick answers and definitions such as Encyclopedia of Evaluation and Dictionary of Statistics & Methodology
(Journal) Articles - published in research methods books, usually major works, and in encyclopedias and dictionaries rather than in journals
Datasets - over 150 datasets from research studies; can be used to try out data analysis
Video - limited access to SAGE's video content; refine by "Available to me" for accessible titles
Project Planner - listed as both a Content Type and a Research Tool, includes answers to questions such as "What is Sampling?"
PsycINFO
An abstract database of psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Includes bibliographic citations, abstracts, cited references, and descriptive information from scholarly publications in the behavioral and social sciences.
Provides access to education literature and resources. The database includes information from journals in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Also indexes ERIC documents, which are education materials not published elsewhere, such as curriculum guides, research reports and conference papers.
Education Research Complete
Education Research Complete includes literature on all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialities, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
Business Source Ultimate
Bibliographic database for business, economics, finance, management and marketing. Includes selected full-text journal articles, case studies, country/region, industry and company reports.
ABI/INFORM Global
ABI/INFORM Global is a comprehensive business database that provides access to a vast collection of resources covering corporate strategies, management theory, and business information etc., making it an invaluable resource for academic research.
Find out about the online courses we offer for all students to help develop both your wider academic skills and skills in using the Library for your research.
Scopus
Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources.
JSTOR
JSTOR (Journal STORage) gives access to (A) the full text of the complete back files of important scholarly journals, generally from the first volume through issues published before the most recent three years, and, (B) 800+ e-book titles from a wide variety of disciplines published digitally by university presses from 2013.
Web of Science
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary research platform which enables simultaneous cross-searching of a range of citation indexes and databases. It also offers access to research tools like citation reports and cited reference searching.
Emerald Insight
Emerald Insight is a comprehensive academic resource that offers access to high-quality research articles, case studies, and expert insights across management, education, and social sciences.
China Academic Journal
Electronic journal platform offering access to Chinese journals. This database is searchable in both Chinese and English. The Library has access to Series F: Literature, History & Philosophy, Series G: Politics/Military affairs/Law & Series J: Economics.